Freddie Redd “music from The Connection” (1960)

Selected Track: “Wigglin’ ” I>

BN 4027 Freddie Redd Music from The Connection: Jackie McLean (as) Freddie Redd (p) Mike Mattos (b) Larry Ritchie (d) Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, February 15, 1960

Following an upgrade to an original pressing, I feel I now “own” a proper copy of this essential record, and it is a good choice to celebrate the 100th post of LondonJazzCollector. My thanks to all for over 5,000 page views in the last three months.

Previously posting my favourite track “Sister Salvation” it is time to select a new one, plus a YouTube excerpt from the film version of The Connection which provides jazz lovers in search of the authentic 60’s jazz experience a helpful guide to heroin consumption: correct table-laying etiquette in a NY shooting gallery (spoon, knife, fork, needle, tourniquet) and how to avoid embarrassment to your host by grimacing properly in the event of an overdose.

Fashion Notes: Fashionistas will note the junkie check shirt completing his heroin-chic ensemble. Jackie McLean, as part of the shooting gallery in-flight entertainment, is dressed casually, forsaking the formal suit of the record cover.

 

Labels, run-out and Liner Notes

47 West 63rd St labels, Deep Groove both sides, RVG machine stamp, figure that makes it a first press. Good, yes?

Got to love that ear. Rings all the right bells – the ones that failed to go off when I previously bought a stereo in very old stock 47 West  63rd labels but no ear – early reissue by Liberty

. A slightly grubby cover, showing its age, though not unlike its’ new owner.

Collector Notes

I have wanted an original pressing of this for many years and always it escaped my reach in auctions, or the condition was trashed. My previous copy was carelessly chosen – turned out to have no “ear” despite 47 West 63rd labels and original cover and a price ticket with “orig” on it. Stereo too. Niavete on my part, all in the learning curve.

This trade up cost me a total of only £33 on eBay against nine other bidders. Not bad for an original pressing this time, with the ear.  Mono original. Jackie McLean sounding sharp. Sounds as it should: great.

12 thoughts on “Freddie Redd “music from The Connection” (1960)

  1. Hi LJC,
    FYI, I found at my local record store a “reissue” by Boplicity records. There is no mention of Blue note anywhere, just a copyright mention to Liberty records. Obviously the label is different, but they kept the same original cover without the “note” with the catalog number and they even changed the first paragraph of the second column in the liner note to include reference to BOP 3 instead of BLP 4024.
    I don’t know much about Boplicity records, seems to be a London based record store that issued some Lps in the 80s.
    Cheers

    • BTW, very thin record but sounds quite good on my mid-fi system, surely not on par with your first press…

    • Hi Xavier
      Boplicity, Affinity, Charlie, Mole, OJC, there are many jazz reissue labels in the eighties, of which I know very little, other than that they are generally pretty unsatisfactory in the audio department. It is very unlikely they would have had access to anywhere near close to original tapes, so they are copies of copies of copies…
      Cheap, but I take the view at this level you might be better off with the CD.

  2. I agree, and especially with music I really love, it’s offensive to listen to a bad sound.
    in the case of my copy, the faults are 99% in damaged stylus, 1% in wrong print.
    I assure it was unlistenable.
    anyone remembers or still owes the first japanese digital version of Blue Train?
    I’ve it: it’s really awful, cymbals sizzling in the worse way.
    one of the reasons to dislike cd’s and prefer vinyl.

  3. Critiquing it purely from an audiophile perspective, I would have to agree it does not sparkle in the way the very best of RVG does. The bass and drums seem to me a little muddy.. The piano is somewhat lacking in “piano-ness” if that is a word. Its injects a solid punchy midrange sound but lacks finnesse in the upper register. The confounding factor is Mcleans acidic alto, which is clear and bright.

    Having said all that it is a thoroughly enjoyable record.

    I don’t normally listen to music from a purely audio perspective. I generally ask if I am enjoying the music. If yes, everything must be OK. If I am not, I ask if the recording or pressing is letting it down. When that happens, “it’s coat is on a shaky nail” – an apposite Scottish expression I was taught.

  4. I wasn’t so lucky: this record seems to escape from my hands.
    but I keep on searching: in the last months a nice copy has been offered by a seller from Taiwan.
    it was a buy it now for an interesting price, round $ 150, more than £ 33 but a correct price.
    no buyer at least in 3 different periods.
    I was tempted but didn’t push the button.
    let’s see the future.
    this copy’s audio seems good, as well as digital edition by matty.
    do you think, anyway, that audio isn’t at the top for RVG?

  5. 33 quid… What happened there? That is such a steal. You’d expect to see more bids and high rollers forking out so much more for a gem like this. How did this auction go so unnoticed that day?

    • Search me, my snipe was set at treble – just never happened. The seller talked up the faults – scuffs – water stains – but didn’t talk up its virtues. The high rollers must have figured any salesman would be talking it up, so it must be worse than he says, and took fright. I knew the seller from previous sales, and knew he had standards and was selling his own collection, so I decided to go in high. Paid off for once. Nice when that happens.

      • Aha… Well that puts the things in perspective. As you may remember I have bought one Blue Note that was in much worse shape: Lou Donaldson – Sunny Side Up, BLP 4036. Horror photos HERE. The record itself played like an absolute dream after it took a bath on my neighbour’s VPI cleaner and that, indeed, is what counts. 😉

Leave a Reply

