Zoot Sims Stretching Out (1958) UA

Artists

Harry Edison (tp) Bob Brookmeyer (vtb) Zoot Sims (ts) Al Cohn (ts, bars) Hank Jones (p) Freddie Green (g) Eddie Jones (b) Charlie Persip (d) recorded NYC, December 27, 1958, – between Christmas and New Year.

Music

We are on a Fifties roll here. Standards, strictly happy music, nothing dark or introspective (you can put the beret away – for now).  Zoot Sims, Al Cohn, Hank Jones, Bob Brookmeyer, every one takes a turn. I don’t pretend to understand the difference between a valve and a slide trombone, but I like it.

Vinyl: UAL 4023 Promo white label, US original.

VG,  slightly noisy pressing typical of United Artists late Fifties/ early Sixties – a low level of crackle to which cleaning several times yields no improvement, probably included some recycled vinyl. In addition, there are enough handling scuffs to complete that period vintage click’n’pop sound that movies add to soundtracks to make them sound “authentic” – different time, different place, different attitude.

That Cover…

Having to choose between a photo of Zoot Sims with his cheeks puffed out, and a little cheescake in a gold lame bathing suit, must have been a tough call. “Hey sweetheart, what are you doing after the shoot?” The full Mae West schtick. “Come on up, I’ll have nothing on but the radio. Is there anything I can get you – like excited? I’d like to see Paris before I die. Philadelphia will do”  Girly cover, perfect for the Fifties bachelor demographic.Now where’s my pipe?

The Matrix

Messy factory numbering process, big corporation cutting corners with product quality.

Collector’s Corner

Source: South London suburban record shop.

Not expensive, great line up, white label, US original…OK, it was the cover that finally won me over. Little did I know at the time the cover makes it quite sought-after. Popsike tells its own tale:

Unfortunately my copy is not in top shape, and it definitely has some vinyl issues, but you do have to wonder about the outlier bidder at $460. For anyone contemplating a career in record-selling, take note of the speil by Music Matters that sold Stretching Out for $460, and they didn’t use the word “rare!” even once:

 “LP is in Near Mint condition. The thick lustrous vinyl is nearly flawless, without scuffs, or scratches of any kind. There are a few minuscule sleeve marks that do not sound. The fidelity is superb,with no intrusive distortion, pops, clicks,or background noise of any kind.Jacket is in EX+ condition.Original hard and  thick jacket features near spotless lamination.Only one small impact to the upper left hand corner and a small promo stamp on back is keeping this from a higher grade”

“I must have this record, give it to me. Give it to me! I said give it to me!!”

9 thoughts on “Zoot Sims Stretching Out (1958) UA

  1. Hi,

    I have a copy of this sealed in loose shrink. I can see that the back cover has a promo stamp under the shrink. Do you know if United Artists records of this vintage were shrink wrapped or is this likely a later addition?

    Thank you.

    Like

    • Recorded in 1958 issued probably around then, for the old original UnitedArtists label. Shrinks became common practice in the later ’60s, notably on the West Coast. Late 50’s they were still laminating covers, to better effect, and selloptaping the split seams.. I would guess the record has been slipped into a later canibalised shrink. Not difficult to do, bend and wriggle it on and off. Records sold in shrink will often fetch better prices.

      Like

    • RIP Geoffrey Wheeler. I was just informed that my friend and former President of the IAJRC passed away earlier this week. I know he was an occasional contributor to these pages. I hope this can stand as a tribute for this fine man and terrific friend of the music. Thoughts and prayers to the family.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Bob Brookmeyer, American jazz valve trombonist, died from cardiopulmonary arrest, he was 81. | Kterrl's Video Favorites

  3. Aha, always nice to start the day with Ain’t Misbehavin’. The CD version, naturally, contains another six bonus cuts: “Jumpin’ At the Woodside”, “A Blues (What’s on Your Mind)”, “Blue and Sentimental”, “Doggin’ Around”, “Moten Swing” and “Trav’lin’ Light”. Absolutely worth it, even though it’s on the evil silver disc 😉

    And what a coincidence: this Zoot Sims album “Stretching Out” is from 1958 and the Mobley/Morgan album “Peckin’ Time” (recorded February 9, 1958 – released in 1959) features the Mobley composition “Stretchin’ Out”. I guess there was a lot of stretching out going on in 1958 😀

    Like

    • Ahh! the lure of the Evil Silver Disk, bonus tracks. Get behind me temptation. It all sounds very nice,bonus tracks, but it is a slippery slope. Before you know it, you will be on downloads, no physical media at all. Where will all us collectors be then?

      Like

      • Downloads. That’s where I draw the line. Not that I’m against it, but it’s just not for me. With a CD (or an LP for that matter) you at least ‘have’ something real in your collection. And hey, don’t we all like a bonus sometimes? 🙂

        Like

Leave a comment